Authentication and Sharing
Datapane allows secure, authenticated sharing of reports, scripts, blobs, and secrets. Each user on your Datapane instance (e.g. https://acme.datapane.net) has a private password-protected account.
Each Datapane instance exists as a separate database tenancy, so accounts are not shared between instances. You cannot use the same account to authenticate across multiple instances (including Datapane Community).
If you want to share a private report with an outside party—such as a client or contractor—you can use the link provided next to the Share button to generate a secure signed token. This link contains this token which allows anyone with the link to access the report, without signing up to Datapane.
You can also use the report notifications mechanism for this.
For security reasons, access tokens are revoked after 48 hours, but this can be configured by your instance admin under Settings -> Account -> Secure signed link timeout.
To share a report with a specific group of people on your Datapane Server, your administrator can create a Project under Settings -> Projects. When a new user is added to your Datapane server, the administrator can add them to a specific Project. This is especially useful for sharing with external clients.
Datapane Servers come with a default Project. All reports and scripts are shared with the
default group automatically. If you do not want specific internal or external users to view these reports, do not add them to the
You can also change the Project of a report via the web UI (as per the first image above).